CHICAGO (CBS/AP) – Four Bears were named to the 2011 Pro Bowl. Linebackers Brian Urlacher and Lance Briggs are joined by defensive end Julius Peppers and return ace Devin Hester.

This is the sixth consecutive Pro Bowl nod for Briggs (2005-10 seasons). He is just the fourth linebacker in franchise history to be selected to six straight Pro Bowls joining Hall of Famers Dick Butkus (eight straight), Bill George (eight) and Mike Singletary (ten). He is the 10th player overall to be voted to six Pro Bowls as a member of the Bears organization and the eighth to be selected six years in-a-row. In 2010, Briggs is second on the team with 113 tackles and seven tackles for losses to go along with two sacks, two interceptions, two forced fumbles and a fumble recovery.

Hester was named to his third Pro Bowl (2006-07 & 2010 seasons) and is the only player to represent the Bears as a kick returner in multiple seasons. He leads the NFL with a 17.1 punt return average and 35.6 kickoff return average (minimum 10 kickoff returns). This season, Hester has an NFL-best three punt return touchdowns and nine punt returns of 20-plus yards. He has taken five of his 12 kickoff returns for 40-plus yards.

This is the sixth Pro Bowl nod for Peppers (2004-06 and 2008-10 seasons) and his first as a member of the Bears. He is the first Bears defensive end to receive a Pro Bowl nod since Richard Dent following the 1993 season. In 2010, Peppers has eight sacks, six tackles for losses, 23 quarterback pressures and seven pass break-ups. He has helped create five turnovers this season as he has two interceptions, two sacks in which he stripped the ball from the quarterback leading to a recovery by the Bears defense and a batted pass that led to an interception for Chicago.

Urlacher was named to his seventh Pro Bowl (2000-03, 2005-06 & 2010 seasons). He is the eighth player in team history to be voted to seven Pro Bowls as a member of the Bears organization. Urlacher leads the Bears with 141 tackles and 11 tackles for losses. He has added 3.5 sacks, one interception 13 pass break ups, two forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries.



WIDE RECEIVERS – x-Andre Johnson, Houston; x-Reggie Wayne, Indianapolis; Dwayne Bowe, Kansas City; Brandon Lloyd, Denver

TACKLES – x-Jake Long, Miami; x-Joe Thomas, Cleveland; D’Brickashaw Ferguson, N.Y. Jets

GUARDS – x-Kris Dielman, San Diego; x-Logan Mankins, New England; Brian Waters, Kansas City

CENTERS – x-Nick Mangold, N.Y. Jets; Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh

TIGHT ENDS – x-Antonio Gates, San Diego; Marcedes Lewis, Jacksonville

QUARTERBACKS – x-Tom Brady, New England; Peyton Manning, Indianapolis; Philip Rivers, San Diego

RUNNING BACKS – x-Maurice Jones-Drew, Jacksonville; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City; Arian Foster, Houston

FULLBACK – x-Vonta Leach, Houston


ENDS – x-Dwight Freeney, Indianapolis; x-Robert Mathis, Indianapolis; Jason Babin, Tennessee

INTERIOR LINEMAN – x-Haloti Ngata, Baltimore; x-Vince Wilfork, New England; Richard Seymour, Oakland

OUTSIDE LINEBACKERS – x-James Harrison, Pittsburgh; x-Cameron Wake, Miami; Terrell Suggs, Baltimore

INSIDE/MIDDLE LINEBACKERS – x-Ray Lewis, Baltimore; Jerod Mayo, New England

CORNERBACKS – x-Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland; x-Darrelle Revis, N.Y. Jets; Devin McCourty, New England

STRONG SAFETY – x-Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh

FREE SAFTIES – x-Ed Reed, Baltimore; Brandon Meriweather, New England


PUNTER – Shane Lechler, Oakland

PLACEKICKER – Billy Cundiff, Baltimore

KICK RETURN SPECIALIST – Marc Mariani, Tennessee

SPECIAL TEAMER – Montell Owens, Jacksonville



WIDE RECEIVERS – x-Calvin Johnson, Detroit; x-Roddy White, Atlanta; DeSean Jackson, Philadelphia; Greg Jennings, Green Bay

TACKLES – x-Jordan Gross, Carolina; x-Jason Peters, Philadelphia; Chad Clifton, Green Bay

GUARDS – x-Jahri Evans, New Orleans; x-Chris Snee, N.Y. Giants; Carl Nicks, New Orleans

CENTERS – x-Andre Gurode, Dallas; Shaun O’Hara, N.Y. Giants

TIGHT ENDS – x-Jason Witten, Dallas; Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta

QUARTERBACKS – x-Michael Vick, Philadelphia; Drew Brees, New Orleans; Matt Ryan, Atlanta

RUNNING BACKS – x-Michael Turner, Atlanta; Steven Jackson, St. Louis; Adrian Peterson, Minnesota

FULLBACK – x-Ovie Mughelli, Atlanta


ENDS – x-John Abraham, Atlanta; x-Julius Peppers, Chicago; Justin Tuck, N.Y. Giants

INTERIOR LINEMEN – x-Jay Ratliff, Dallas; x-Ndamukong Suh, Detroit; Justin Smith, San Francisco

OUTSIDE LINEBACKERS – x-Clay Matthews, Green Bay; x-DeMarcus Ware, Dallas; Lance Briggs, Chicago;

INSIDE/MIDDLE LINEBACKERS – x-Patrick Willis, San Francisco; Brian Urlacher, Chicago

CORNERBACKS – x-Asante Samuel, Philadelphia; x-Charles Woodson, Green Bay; DeAngelo Hall, Washington

STRONG SAFETY – x-Adrian Wilson, Arizona

FREE SAFTIES – x-Nick Collins, Green Bay; Antrel Rolle, N.Y. Giants


PUNTER – Mat McBriar, Dallas

PLACEKICKER – David Akers, Philadelphia

KICK RETURN SPECIALIST – Devin Hester, Chicago

SPECIAL TEAMER – Eric Weems, Atlanta

Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.

Watch & Listen LIVE