DePaul freshman forward Cleveland Melvin has been named the Big East conference’s Rookie of the Year.

Melvin received votes from 16 coaches and led all freshman in the conference in scoring, he was also named Rookie of the Week four times.

By winning the award Melvin joins some pretty good company. The only other DePaul player to win the award was Quentin Richardson back in 1999.

On the season, Melvin averaged 14.3 points per game, but more impressive was his 17.4 PPG against Big East opponents, good for sixth in the conference.

NOTES: Notre Dame cleaned up with the post season awards. Ben Hansbrough was named the conference Player of the Year, Mike Brey was named Oppenheimer Funds Coach of the Year and Tim Abromaitis was named the American Eagle Outfitters Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Watch & Listen LIVE