Reporting John Cody
CHICAGO (CBS) – Illinois is increasing penalties for those who misuse parking placards and license plates for the disabled.
WBBM Newsradio’s John Cody reports Gov. Pat Quinn has signed legislation imposing a $2,500 fine for anyone who uses the disabled parking placard belonging to another person who has died.
Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White — who administers the state’s disabled parking program — said, “I think it’s wrong for you to, number one, use someone else’s disability placard; more importantly, to use a deceased person’s disability placard.”
White said officials are also looking at imposing a $2,500 fine for anyone who makes a fake disabled parking placard.
Another measure signed by the governor on Monday increases the fine for misusing a disability license plate or parking decal from $500 to $600, and imposes a $1,000 fine on any healthcare provider who falsifies certification for a disability plate or parking placard.
Both laws signed by the governor go into effect next year.
White also said Monday that, starting in 2014, the state’s disabled parking placards will include the holder’s age and sex. He said that will help officers be easily able to tell when a person is using the placard belonging to someone of a different gender or much different age.