(WSCR) Senior Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o has won the 2012 Dick Butkus award, which is given annually to the top collegiate linebacker.

Te’o ended his 2012 campaign with 103 tackles, 1.5 sacks, seven interceptions and one fumble recovery, leading a Notre Dame defense that was No. 1 in the country in points allowed.

Teo and the Irish will take on Alabama in the BCS National Championship game on Jan. 7 in Miami.

The 21-year-old Te’o is also expected to be a finalist for the Heisman Trophy.

According to a report, Teo received 84 points in the award’s voting process, putting him well ahead of runners-up Jarvis Jones of Georgia, C.J. Mosley of Alabama, Kevin Minter of LSU and Dion Jordan of Oregon.

Watch & Listen LIVE