CHICAGO (CBS) — Five Bears made the Pro Bowl, with Charles Tillman, Tim Jennings, Henry Melton, Julius Peppers and Brandon Marshall making the NFC squad.

The announcement marks the sixth time under Head Coach Lovie Smith that the Bears have had at least four players named to the Pro Bowl. All five players were selected as starters for the NFC.

Tillman started 15 games this season and had three interceptions, 10 forced fumbles and scored three defensive touchdowns. This is Tillman’s second career Pro Bowl, making it for the first time last season. The last defensive back to make consecutive Pro Bowls was Mark Carrier in the 1990 and 1991 seasons.

Peppers was named to the Pro Bowl squad for the eighth time in his career. The defensive end had 11.5 sacks this season and one forced fumble in 15 starts. Peppers’ selection marks three straight as a member of the Bears, the first Bears defensive end to do so since Doug Adkins did so following the 1961-63 seasons.

Cornerback Tim Jennings made the roster for the first time in his career. Jennings led the NFL with eight interceptions in 13 starts this year, including an interception returned for a touchdown in a victory over the Carolina Panthers in Week 8.

Henry Melton also made his first career Pro Bowl. Melton had six sacks, tying him for third among NFL defensive tackles, and two forced fumbles in 13 starts. The last Bears defensive tackle to make the Pro Bowl was Tommie Harris in 2007.

In addition to his 11 touchdowns, Marshall had 113 receptions and 1466 receiving yards, both franchise records. Marshall also made the Pro Bowl in 2008, 2009 and 2011. The last Bears wide receiver to make the Pro Bowl was Marty Booker in 2002.

Lance Briggs’ streak of consecutive Pro Bowls was snapped at seven, beginning in 2005.

Watch & Listen LIVE