Blackhawks Unhappy With Goaltender Interference Call
Blackhawks CentralShop for Hawks Cup Gear Buy Blackhawks Tickets NHL Scoreboard NHL Standings Team STATS Team Schedule Team Roster Team Injuries
Sports Fan Insider
(CBS) Immediately after the Blackhawks fell 3-1 to the Red Wings in Game 3 of the Western Conference Semifinals, the team was clearly upset with falling down 2-1 in this best-of-seven series.
Adding insult to injury, the Blackhawks were also forced to deal with questions surrounding the goalie interference call that took away what would have been the game-tying goal in the third period.
Just over a minute after Patrick Kane scored to cut the Red Wings’ two-goal lead in half, Viktor Stalberg appeared to score the game-tying goal, but after an official review, the referees ruled that teammate Andrew Shaw was “in the crease” and disallowed the goal due to goalie interference.
As Shaw battled for position, he ended up in the left side of the crease in front of Red Wings goaltender Jimmy Hawks.
According to NHL rules, goaltender interference can be called when a player ‘‘impaires the goalie’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal.”
Head coach Joel Quenneville: ‘‘I disagree with the call. He didn’t touch the goalie.’’
Corey Crawford: ‘‘I think that’s the first time I’ve seen in-the-crease called since about 2000.”
Vikor Stalberg: ‘‘It’s one of those things I think maybe they can call, but most of the time they’re going to let that one go. Especially when you get pushed in [the crease] and he doesn’t even touch the goalie.