Madigan Seeks Extension Of Concealed Carry Deadline
Featured & Trending:
Latest News Headlines:
Get Breaking News First
CHICAGO (CBS) – Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan has asked a federal appeals court for an extra 30 days for the governor to decide if he’ll sign recently approved concealed carry legislation.
In a filing on Monday, Madigan’s office asked the 7th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals to give the governor until July 9 to review legislation passed by the General Assembly last week, allowing Illinois residents to carry firearms in public.
The court had given the state until June 9 to pass concealed carry legislation after striking down the previous ban on carrying guns in public, but it took state lawmakers until the last day of their spring session, on May 31, to work up an agreement.
“This request for an additional 30 days would allow the Governor a reasonable amount of time to fulfill his state constitutional duties,” Madigan said in a statement on Monday.
She also noted the appeals court sought to avoid a situation in which there would be no law governing concealed carry in Illinois, by giving the legislature six months to act. Although lawmakers met the deadline, the Illinois Constitution gives the governor 60 days to sign or veto a bill before it automatically becomes law.
The measure sent to the governor would require Illinois State Police to issue a concealed carry permit to any gun owner with a valid Firearm Owners Identification card if they pass a background check, pay a $150 fee, and complete 16 hours of training.
The legislation would prohibit the carrying of firearms in many locations — including schools, taverns and parks — but would allow a gun to be kept securely in a car.
The plan also would allow local governments to retain existing firearms ordinances – such as Chicago’s ban on assault weapons – but require them to enact concealed carry. Local governments would also be blocked from approving new rules for transporting guns and assault-weapon restrictions.
The governor has yet to say if he’ll sign the concealed carry measure, but it passed the House and Senate with enough votes to override a veto.
Madigan’s office has until June 24 to decide whether to ask the U.S. Supreme Court to review the appeals court’s ruling requiring the state to come up with a concealed carry law.