Bulls’ Noah Takes 4th In MVP Voting

Joakim Noah. (Jared Wickerham/Getty Images)

Joakim Noah. (Jared Wickerham/Getty Images)

Cody Westerlund headshot very small Cody Westerlund
A sports editor for CBSChicago.com and 670TheScore.com, ...
Read More

Chicago Bulls
Upcoming Games

Buy Bulls Tickets Full Schedule
Monday Dec 22
vs. Raptors
Thursday Dec 25
vs. Lakers
Saturday Dec 27
vs. Pelicans
Bulls Central
Shop for Bulls Gear
Buy Bulls Tickets

NBA Scoreboard
NBA Standings
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

(CBS) After a career year, Bulls center Joakim Noah took fourth in the MVP voting.

Thunder star Kevin Durant won the award, his first such honor, in a landslide by taking 119 of the 125 first-place votes. Heat star LeBron James was a clear second, including taking the other six first-place votes, and Clippers big man Blake Griffin took third.

Noah averaged career-highs of 12.6 points, 11.3 rebounds and 5.4 assists this season, becoming the focal point and facilitator of the offense after Chicago dealt with a season-ending injury to star Derrick Rose and the departure of a key cog in Luol Deng. Noah was also named the NBA’s Defensive Player of the Year, leading a Bulls team to a 48-34 regular-season mark.

The Rockets’ James Harden was fifth in the MVP voting.

Here’s the top 10, with points in parentheses:

1. Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City (1,232)

2. LeBron James, Miami (891)

3. Blake Griffin, Los Angeles Clippers (434)

4. Joakim Noah, Chicago (322)

5. James Harden, Houston (85)

6. Stephen Curry, Golden State (66)

7. Chris Paul, Los Angeles Clippers (45)

8. Al Jefferson, Charlotte (34)

9. Paul George, Indiana (33)

10. LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland (26)

Cody Westerlund is a sports editor for CBSChicago.com and covers the Bulls. Follow him on Twitter @CodyWesterlund.