Monday Night’s Cubs-Rockies Game Postponed After Hail, Rain

DENVER (AP) — The game between the Chicago Cubs and Colorado Rockies on Monday night has been postponed because of rain.

It will be made up as part of a split doubleheader on Tuesday, with the first game at 1:10 p.m. CT/12:10 p.m. MT and the second at 7:40 p.m. CT/6:40 p.m MT. The game was delayed for about 75 minutes before being called.

hail Monday Nights Cubs Rockies Game Postponed After Hail, Rain

Hail blankets the field as preparation begins for a game between the Colorado Rockies and the Chicago Cubs later in the day at Coors Field on May 8, 2017 in Denver, Colorado. (Matthew Stockman/Getty Images)

This comes as welcome news for the Cubs, who can now get a good night’s rest. The team arrived at their Denver hotel around 5 a.m. Monday after a 5-4, 18-inning loss to the New York Yankees.

There was so much hail in the afternoon that it had to be swept off the tarp covering the field. The rain persisted as the crowd gathered under the overhang trying to wait out the delay.

(© 2017 by STATS LLC and Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and Associated Press is strictly prohibited.)

Watch & Listen LIVE