UPDATED 01/17/11 6:03 a.m.

CHICAGO (CBS) — Fans are revving up – and pulling no punches with their trash-talking – as the Bears prepare to take on the Green Bay Packers in the playoffs for the first time in nearly 70 years.

The Bears will take on the Packers for the NFC Championship Game on Sunday. As CBS 2’s Susanna Song reports, the last time the archrivals competed in the postseason was on Dec. 14, 1941.

This comes after the Bears beat the Seattle Seahawks 35-24 Sunday afternoon.

LISTEN: Newsradio 780’s Michele Fiore Reports

LISTEN: Doug And OB Post-Game Show

LISTEN: Greg Olsen on Doug And OB Post-Game Show

There was plenty of smack-talking early Monday morning among customers at Eggsperience, 35 W. Ontario St. Many said the game against the Packers will be the biggest game in the city’s history in their opinion – even bigger than the Super Bowl.

Some were talking about buying tickets, while others said they’d come out to tailgate – January climes notwithstanding.

“They’re going down? Come on. Packers? Get out of town. It’ll be awesome,” one man said.

“We’re going all the way. All the way. And that’s it,” added a woman sitting next to him at the same table.

Meanwhile, plenty of people have been ripping the Packers apart – using language that can’t have gone over well in Wisconsin.

“I can’t stand cheeseheads, so I just want them to melt,” said one woman, interviewed by WDJT-TV in Milwaukee.

Countered a Packers fan, “It will be a great pleasure to beat the Bears.”

Back at Eggsperience, one man was running with the Wisconsin cheese theme.

“I had cheese on my omelet. The omelet was great,” he said. “We need to chew those Packers up next Sunday.”

The Packers have won three Super Bowls, in 1966-67, 1967-68, and 1996-97. The Bears have won just one, with the legendary team led by Coach Mike Ditka, Jim McMahon, Walter Payton and the other memorable stars in 1985-86.

Altogether, the Bears have 12 NFL championships – the most in the league. And even though it’s been 25 years since their last victory, the Bears have nine titles; they also won in 1921, 1932, 1933, 1940, 1941, 1943, 1946 and 1963.

The Super Bowl was not established until the 1966-67 season.

Watch & Listen LIVE