By Adam Hoge-

CHICAGO (CBS) Big Ten coaches voted to eliminate the annual preseason media poll and instead have instituted a much less exciting “Players To Watch List”, which was released Thursday morning as Big Ten Media Days kicked off.

Illinois quarterback Nathan Scheelhaase and Northwestern quarterback Dan Persa are among 12 players on the list that was selected by a media panel.

Here’s the entire 2011 list:

QB Denard Robinson, Michigan
QB Kirk Cousins, Michigan State
DT Jared Crick, Nebraska
LB Lavonte David, Nebraska
QB Dan Persa, Northwestern

QB Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois
WR Damarlo Belcher, Indiana
C Mike Brewster, Ohio State
DT John Simon, Ohio State
LB Michael Mauti, Penn State
RB Montee Ball, Wisconsin
RB James White, Wisconsin