(CBS) San Antonio Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich was named NBA Coach of the Year Tuesday, beating out Bulls head coach Tom Thibodeau, who finished in second.

Thibodeau would have been the first coach to win the award in back-to-back years.

Popovich received 77 first-place votes while Thibodeau only received 27 first-place votes.

Indiana head coach Frank Vogel finished in third.

Both the Spurs and the Bulls finished with a 50-16 regular season record, the best in the NBA.