(CBS) — It could be as soon as mid-February when the first legal gun toters are walking Illinois streets with a pistol in their pocket.

READ MORE: Bears Head Coach Matt Nagy Confirms Justin Fields Has Cracked Ribs, Denies Latest Round Of Rumors

Cook County Sheriff Tom Darts top policy aid briefed Cook County Commissioners on movement toward compliance with the new concealed carry law.

READ MORE: Former Chicago Bear Dan Hampton Faces Driving While Intoxicated Charge After Recent In Northwest Indiana

“The absolute earliest that a person could receive a license would be February 5 although that is extremely unlikely. It will be much likelier that in mid-April,” said Sheriff Dart’s Police Chief Kara Smith.

MORE NEWS: Chicago Weather: Slight Warm Up On The Way

Smith says the concealed carry application will cost $150: $120 to the State Police, $20 to support mental health and $10 to the State Police Crime Lab, but no money to the sheriff who’ll have to collect the weapon if the owner’s FOID card or concealed carry permit is revoked.