(CBS) If we’ve learned anything at the past couple Masters, it’s that golfers are under as much of a microscope as ever — from those watching on the course and at home.

A year after a viewer with experience as a golf rules official brought a faulty drop of Tigers Woods’ to everyone attention and led to a costly two-stroke penalty for the star, Luke Donald on Thursday was assessed a two-stroke penalty after a patron on the course noticed he violated the sport’s code following a bunker shot.

READ MORE: Chicago Weather: Heavy Rain, Possible Flood Watch

From Yahoo Sports:

Donald was penalized two strokes … for grounding his club while the ball was still in a bunker on the ninth hole. A spokesman for Augusta National, where the Masters is played, told Yahoo Sports that the penalty was reported by a patron to an official on the course.

READ MORE: Ed's Tech Notes: Walgreens New Drone Delivery, Amazon New Pay Option, Facebook Rumored Rebrand

The problem reportedly stemmed from Donald — a Northwestern product — grounding his club after he failed to get out of the bunker on his first attempt. He took a double-bogey on the hole before later being assessed the two-shot penalty prior to signing his scoreboard. The penalty turned his 77 into a 79.

MORE NEWS: Man Shot In Leg In West Rogers Park

[tweet https://twitter.com/LukeDonald/status/454406108426567680] [tweet https://twitter.com/LukeDonald/status/454406702897836032]