By John Dodge

CHICAGO (CBS) — Of the 43 contested races for city council, 19 of them will be headed to the runoff round in April.

One incumbent lost on Tuesday, Rey Colon was routed by Carlos Ramirez-Rosa in the 35th ward.

In the 33rd Ward, Ald. Deb Mell was forced into a runoff after the final few precincts were counted. All night, she held on with 51 percent of the vote, but slipped to 49.6 percent and now faces a run against Tim Meegan.


While the results are unofficial, here are the 18 ward races to be contested in April:

Ward 2

Brian Hopkins
Alyx S. Pattison

Ward 7

Natashia Holmes
Gregory Mitchell

Ward 10

John Pope
Susan Garza

Ward 11

Patrick Thompson
John Kozlar

Ward 15

Raymond Lopez
Rafael Yanez

Ward 16

Toni Folkes
Stephanie Coleman

Ward 18

Derrick Curtis
Lona Lane

Ward 20

Willie Cochran
Kevin Bailey

Ward 21

Howard Brookins
Marvin McNeil

Ward 24

Michael Scott Jr
Vetress Boyce

Ward 29

Deborah Graham
Chris Taliaferro

Ward 31

Rey Suarez
Milly Santiago

Ward 33

Deb Mell
Tim Meegan

Ward 36

Omar Aquino
Gilbert Villegas

Ward 37

Emma Mitts
Tara Stamps

Ward 41

Mary O’Connor
Anthony Napolitano

Ward 43

Michele Smith
Caroline Vickrey

Ward 45

John Arena
John Garrido

Ward 46

James Cappelman
Amy Crawford