(CBS) The goal didn’t count in the wee hours of Wednesday morning, but Blackhawks forward Andrew Shaw nonetheless pulled off one of the most amazing and jaw-dropping feats you’ve ever seen on ice in his team’s 3-2 triple-overtime win against the Ducks in Game 2 of the Western Conference Final.

Midway through the second overtime, Blackhawks winger Patrick Kane put a shot on goal just left of Ducks goalie Frederik Andersen. It careened up in the air, and Shaw, in his usual spot battling in front of the net, headed the puck over Andersen’s shoulder and into the net.

It was like something straight out of a World Cup match, with Shaw getting shoved as he did it. The Blackhawks momentarily celebrated, believing they’d won.

The officials went to the replay monitor, after which a review found the goal to be illegal. It was waved off, per NHL rule 78.5, which includes a line that says goals are disallowed “when the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.”

Shaw explained that he was reacting in the moment.

“I understood,” he said of the goal being disallowed, according to CSNChicago.com. “But I still think if anyone can pull that off, it should still be a goal.”

Watch Shaw’s disallowed goal above.

Watch & Listen LIVE