CHICAGO (AP) — An American has won the men’s Chicago Marathon for the first time since 2002.

Galen Rupp crossed the finished line at 2 hours, 9 minutes and 20 seconds. Kenyan Abel Kirui came in second, 28 seconds behind Rupp. Another Kenyan, Bernard Kipyego, was third.

READ MORE: LIVE UPDATES: Chicago Sky's WNBA Championship Parade And Rally

Galen Rupp of the United States celebrates after winning the men’s race with a time of 2:09:20 during the Bank of America Chicago Marathon. (Dylan Buell/Getty Images)

The women’s race was won by Ethiopian Tirunesh Dibaba in 2 hours 18 minutes and 31 seconds. Brigid Kosgei of Kenya came second and American Jordan Hasay was third.

READ MORE: Gov. JB Pritzker Hopes To Lift Statewide Indoor Mask Mandate In Time For Holidays

The last American to win the men’s race was Khalid Khannouchi in 2002.

Tirunesh Dibaba of Ethiopia wins the women’s race with a time of 2:18:31 during the Bank of America Chicago Marathon. (Dylan Buell/Getty Images)

More than 40,000 runners started the 40th annual Chicago Marathon, and more than a million spectators lined the route.

MORE NEWS: Jovan McPherson Charged With Shooting CPD Officer, Kidnapping Woman In Lincoln Park

(Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)