When splitting the conference into divisions, commissioner Jim Delany emphasized the criteria the conference used: Competitive equity, traditional rivals and geography.

Because geography was their last basis for the divisions, the conference didn’t feel it would be appropriate to name the divisions based on geography.

Legends Division: Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota and Northwestern.

Leaders Division: Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Illinois, Purdue and Indiana.

There will also be 18 new trophies incorporated into the Big Ten football season.

The winner of the Big Ten Championship game will receive the Stagg-Paterno Trophy. The Big Ten Championship game MVP will be awarded the Grange-Griffin Trophy.

Trophy Name (Named for)
Championship Game Trophies
Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy (Amos Alonzo Stagg, Chicago; Joe Paterno, Penn State)

Grange-Griffin Championship Game MVP (Harold Edward “Red” Grange, Illinois; Archie Griffin, Ohio State)

Postgraduate Awards
Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award (Gerald R. Ford, Michigan; Nile Kinnick, Iowa)

Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award (Tony Dungy, Minnesota; Anthony Thompson, Indiana)

Annual Awards/Trophies
Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year  (Otto Graham, Northwestern; Eddie George, Ohio State)

Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year (Bronislau “Bronko” Nagurski, Minnesota; Charles Woodson, Michigan)

Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (Wayne Woodrow “Woody” Hayes, Ohio State; Glenn Edward “Bo” Schembechler, Michigan)

Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year (Darrell Thompson, Minnesota: Antwaan Randle El, Indiana)

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year (Dave Rimington, Nebraska; Orlando Pace, Ohio State)

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year ( Charles Aaron “Bubba” Smith, Michigan State; Courtney Brown, Penn State)

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year (Bob Griese, Purdue; Drew Brees, Purdue)

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year (Alan Ameche, Wisconsin; Ron Dayne, Wisconsin)

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year (Jack Tatum, Ohio State; Rod Woodson, Purdue)

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year (Dick Butkus, Illinois; Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern)

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year (Pat Richter, Wisconsin; Desmond Howard, Michigan)

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year (Ted Kwalick, Penn State; Dallas Clark, Iowa)

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year (Jim Bakken, Wisconsin; Morten Andersen, Michigan State)

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year (Thomas Dwight “Dike” Eddleman, Illinois; Brandon Fields, Michigan State)

Watch & Listen LIVE