Kesler Beats Out Toews For Selke Trophy

CHICAGO (CBS) Vancouver Canucks foward Ryan Kesler won the Selke Trophy Wednesday night, beating out Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews and Red Wings forward Pavel Datsyuk.

The Selke Trophy is awarded annually to the league’s top defensive forward. Datsyuk had won it the last three seasons.

Toews had a good case for winning the trophy after winning a league-high 937 faceoffs during the 2010-11 season and finishing with a plus-25 rating. Kesler led the league in blocked shots and won 57 percent of his faceoffs.

The award was handed out at the NHL’s award show in Las Vegas.


More From CBS Chicago

Daily Weather Reports Delivered To You!SIGN UP NOW: Get daily weather reports every morning from meteorologist Steve Baskerville!
CBS Sports Radio RoundupGet your latest sports talk from across the country.

Listen Live