(CBS) Former Bears quarterback Josh McCown and offensive tackle Jordan Mills have been named the winners of the Brian Piccolo Award, it was announced Tuesday morning in a ceremony at Halas Hall.

McCown was the veteran winner of the award, while Mills took the rookie honor.

McCown wasn’t present at the ceremony, as he signed with the Bucs in the offseason and is their presumptive starter. Jay Cutler, the man who McCown filled in for during parts of last season in Chicago, accepted the award on McCown’s behalf.

The award is given annually to who best Bear who exemplifies the courage, loyalty, teamwork, dedication and sense of humor of the late Brian Piccolo, a former Bears running back. 

Watch & Listen LIVE