Catholic 7

(credit: Chris Chambers/Getty Images)

Big East: One More Time, With Feeling

The death of the Big East as we know it hit home last week as 14 teams arrived at the World’s Most Famous Arena (Connecticut was ineligible). Next season, the “Catholic 7” will be reportedly joined by Butler, Creighton, and Xavier in a basketball-only conference that has paid to keep the Big East name.


(credit: Andy Lyons/Getty Images)

Notre Dame To Join ACC Next Season

Notre Dame will join the Atlantic Coast Conference starting next season, a year earlier than expected, following the split among the Big East’s football schools and seven Catholic schools that forming their own basketball-focused conference.


DePaul Blue Demons mascot. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

DePaul Set To Play In New League As Big East, Catholic 7 Officially Split

The Big East and the so-called “Catholic 7”, which includes DePaul, officially announced their much-anticipated split Friday, which will become effective July 1.

CBS Chicago–03/08/2013