PARK RIDGE, Ill. (CBS/AP) — Michigan State’s Draymond Green has been chosen as player of the year in the Big Ten, while Northwestern’s John Shurna, conference scoring leader, made the first team for both coaches and the media.

Green averaged 16.2 points and a league-best 10.5 rebounds as the Spartans shared the regular-season title with Michigan and Ohio State.

Michigan State’s Tom Izzo was named coach of the year for a third time as the Spartans finished 24-7 and 13-5 in the league after starting the season unranked.

Also Monday, Northwestern’s Drew Crawford made both the coaches’ and media’s third teams. Brandon Paul of Illinois made the coaches’ third team and was an honorable mention for the media voting panel.

Meyers Leonard, Illinois, was an honorable mention for coaches. Northwestern’s Dave Sobolewski was named to the coaches’ all-freshman team.

Big Ten Sporstmanship Award honorees include Sam Maniscalco, Illinois, and Nick Fruendt, Northwestern.

(TM and © Copyright 2012 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright2012 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)