(CBS/AP) — Chicago Bears running back Matt Forte and wide receiver Brandon Marshall have been selected to the 2014 Pro Bowl.

Forte was selected to his second Pro Bowl  and is the fourth Bears running back to be named to the Pro Bowl multiple times, joining the legendary Walter Payton (nine) and Gale Sayers (five) and Rick Casares (five), and Neal Anderson (four), the Bears said Friday.

“It’s a blessing to be selected to the Pro Bowl for a second time,” Forte said in a written statement. “God has blessed me so much and I’m thankful for his grace on and off of the field. I’d like to thank the many fans, friends and family for voting for me.”

Marshall was named to his fifth career Pro Bowl and his second in two seasons as a member of the Bears.

The NFL combines votes from fans, players and coaches to determine 86 of 88 Pro Bowl players; the other two players are long-snappers selected by Pro Bowl coaches. Voting ended Thursday.

Under a new format this year, NFL greats Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders will divvy up the players in a two-day draft before the Jan. 26 game. Offensive and defensive players with the most votes who don’t make it past the divisional playoff round will serve as active player captains.

(TM and © Copyright 2013 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright2013 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

Watch & Listen LIVE